Be the Hero of Your Own Story.

Yushido is a program of adventure games set in amazing places.  It's a club for people who love action and fantasy.   You get fitter, healthier, more capable and confident.  Don't just watch a character, BECOME the hero.  In a year's time, you can be an Okami Yushi who has swung from vines, climbed mountains, and meditated under ancient waterfalls in Japan.

To break the Curse of Modernity, you must develop 心と体の調和 (Kokoro to karada no chowa), harmony of mind, body, and spirit.  Complete adventures to discover all the Curse has taken from you and unite it in true alignment.  Earn Experience Points (XP) as you go.  When you have enough XP, level up to new challenges and new discoveries.

Tanuki Level.

Tanuki are mischievous shapeshifters.  They are found around people, though you may not see them as what they are.  If respected, they bring blessings.  If mistreated, tricks.  This is Level 1.  See just how much the Curse has taken from you. Learn skills for your quest.  Develop your character and assemble your gear.  These adventures will involve walking on mostly level, well-maintained surfaces.  Moderate climate.  Around 2 hours of activity.  6 Tanuki adventures.


Kappa Level.

Kappa is level 2.  These adventures take you into the Wilds.  Kappa live in water where they are known to pull down unsuspecting people.  But if treated with courtesy and respect...and given cucumbers, they will respond in kind and actually guard their friends around water.  You will likely get wet on these adventures.  More challenging climate (hotter, colder, wetter, drier, etc). Durations of 2-4 hours.  Slightly difficult terrain.  4 Kappa adventures.


Kodama Level.

Kodama are tree spirits that appear only in pristine forests to those who can perceive them.  These adventures challenge your mind and heart as well as your body.  Encounter wonders and develop the inner strength to face your darker demons.  At this level, you begin to understand that you carry your enemy inside you.  Involves walking on uneven, or inclined terrain.  Durations may exceed 4 hours.  May involve running, mud, mosquitos, cold, heat, wildlife.  May be overnight.  4 Kodama adventures.

Okami Level.

These wolf-like messengers from the spirit world are equally benevolent and dangerous.  You may receive incredible aid or be carried beyond this world.  Here your skills will be put to the test.  If you master these adventures, you're ready for anything.  This part of your quest involves difficult and wild terrain.  Potential encounters with dangerous wildlife.  May include long distances and durations.  5 Okami adventures.

Okami Yushi Nakama.

When you've gained enough XP at Okami level, you become an  狼勇姿 (Okami Yushi).  You have recovered what was lost, faced your fears, and broken the Curse of Modernity.  Now walk forward into what new adventures await with united body, mind, and spirit.  We are 仲間 (Nakama), a band of brothers and sisters, bonded by our Okami experiences, continuing to grow and sharing adventures across the worlds forever after.  Nakama adventures are your goal.  Scale mystic peaks, meditate under forgotten waterfalls, follow ancient paths to forgotten real life!

This is your destiny, Tanuki Yushi!  Your place beside us is waiting!

How it Works.

When you sign up, you become a Tanuki Yushi and receive an insignia of rank.  Adventures occur every other weekend.  Adventure Strong sessions are every week.  You must earn enough XP to level up to the next rank.  It is possible to complete all adventures in one year's time.  If you miss one, that's ok.  It will cycle back around.

In addition to the benefits of Curse-free life, Okami Yushi also gain access to one-of-a-kind Nakama adventures in Japan and elsewhere, and assistance in planning your own custom adventures.


Tanuki:                600 XP
Kappa:                 800 XP
Kodama:               1600 XP
Okami:                  3200 XP

Yushi must be fit for the quest.  So, in addition to the level adventures, you must complete at least one Adventure Strong session at each level.  You can attend as many of these as you like to get better and better.

Adventure Strong:       1 for each level        200 XP

Full List of Adventure Descriptions